williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

ON THUNDERSTORMS AND CREATIVITY

Actually, I’m not sure the two things in the title have anything to do with each other. I just really like that title. Here, look at it again:

ON THUNDERSTORMS AND CREATIVITY

Or maybe this way:

On THUNDERSTORMS and CREATIVITY

I think maybe I like that title because the whole household (well, everyone but, remarkably, the three-year-old) was awakened by a thunderstorm one day last week in the early morning hours. Storms with lots of thunder and lightning are…electric. Just ask Ben “I just charred my skivvies for science” Franklin.

Going to sleep with the rain going pitter-pat is soothing. Reading a book by a picture window while a storm rages outside, equally so. There’s something about the rumbling, the lightening, the way a storm can turn day into night that fuels the senses.

Ergo, the storm which left me exhausted from lack of sleep, fueled my creativity.

You know what it feels like when you go outside right after a heavy storm? You really can feel a charge in the air. Experiencing real creativity is like that. Thunderstorms create electricity and dead earthworms (shut up, they do to. You ever see an earthworm wandering around when it hasn’t been raining?). Brainstorms create a downpour of ideas and new projects.

The fact that I haven’t been extraordinarily more productive since the night of that storm, other than a catchy title on this post is no matter. I’d say I’ve been a normal week’s worth of productive. It does nothing to undercut my thesis. Nothing at all.

NOTHING.

After all, what if we hadn’t had a thunderstorm? My creative endeavors – books, plays, getting out of real and meaningful housework and avoiding my family – might all have cratered had I not been awakened at 3 a.m. by a storm, reawakened at 3:30 by my kid saying said storm was scary and again at 4 a.m. by the storm. There’s no way to know.

THUNDERSTORMS AND CREATIVITY – THEY GO TOGETHER.

THEY ARE THE CHOCOLATE AND PEANUT BUTTER OF METEOROLOGICAL ACTIVITY.

I wrote this blog post didn’t I?

Thunderstorms also make logic air-tight.

I’m really tired. Also hungry.*

*MMMM. Chocolate and peanut butter. *Drool*

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

