williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

WHAT’S ON MY TABLE?

Ah, April!

The time when a young man’s fancy turns to love…

of a good spring cleaning!

Or something like that.

I have  a little home office upstairs in my house. I had an office in the last house we owned too, but it was in the basement. It was a decent room, except for the bugs and the occasional mouse. Oh, and the fact that I froze down there about eight months out of the year. It was bigger than what I have now. Plenty of room for my…friends, four-legged and four-plus-legged.

So, in the newer house, the office is upstairs. Much like the old office, however, it gets pretty cluttered, pretty quick. And, like the old office, nothing much ever happens on the cleaning front.

It’s been going on that way for years. I clearly cannot be trusted to do this by myself. Because of that, and because I needed an easy way to fill this space this week quickly (did I mention, in addition to cleaning, April also brings spring fever?), I present for you now an itemized inventory of the things on my work table, which I will then sort and file away, leaving a pristine, fully functional work space.

Hey! Where you goin’? We’re just getting started. Scoff if you want, but someday, when the cornerstone for the official library dedicated to me is laid, this blog post will take the place where my “papers” would have in a bygone era. How that works is your problem. I’ll be dead.

So here it is:

Two Nook readers. One is mine, the other’s my kid’s. We’re a Nook family. When the first generations e-readers came out, I liked the interface on the Nook better so I went with that. Since then, Kindle has pretty much leapt past Nook and Nook is threatening to sputter out of existence-as-we-know-it. But still, here we are.

Several CDs waiting to be loaded onto my iPod. Judging by the bands – U2, Everclear, Bare Naked Ladies – you’d think I haven’t bought any music since 1990. I have. Honest. Just not what’s represented on my work table right now.

A Roger Ebert quote.  Upon the recent death of the famed film critic, he was quoted a lot. This was one of my favorites:  “I believe that if, at the end of it all, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this, and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.

Someone’s conception of what a TARDIS really looks like that I found on the Internet. I have no idea who did this, but it’s a schematic of what the time and space travelling vehicle from Doctor Who really looks like when it’s not disguised as a 1950s British Police Box. It’s presented in pseudo-science babble. Perfect for geeks.

Various charger cords for electrical thingys.

The Fabric of the Cosmos by Brian Greene – Started reading it two years ago. Never finished. That’s not a knock on Brian Greene. Quantum physics and related disciplines are intriguing to me, but when I read about them, the knowledge doesn’t stick. My fault, Not Dr. Greene’s.

A hand-drawn St. Patrick’s Day Card from my daughter. We’re not Irish, but she likes to make cards.

Downton Abbey: The Complete Scripts – Season One. Did I mention I’m a geek?

A print out of a 2008 newspaper review of a play I was in. The play was “Twelve Angry Men” and it was awesome. Not because of me, but I was in it.  Why is it on my desk five+ years later? Not a clue. Latent narcissism combined with bad cleaning habits?

Which, come to think of it, is probably why I wrote this post.

You can all come back now.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

