williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

SOMETIMES MONSTERS LIKE ORANGE JUICE

Public radio has nothing on a four-year-old for packing in a ton of information into a fifteen minute commute.

Every day, I take my four-year-old to school. Some days he’s silent and reflective, watching the world go by. Other days, he just wants to watch for bulldozers and dump trucks and the occasional ice cream truck.

And then there are the other days. The days when my boy just has TOO MUCH STUFF RATTLING AROUND IN HIS HEAD AND IT NEEDS TO COME OUT RIGHT NOW. ALL OF IT. ONE CONTINUOUS SENTENCE.

In the course of one recent trip, I learned that my boy is “speedy”, much speedier than me. He runs and runs and runs and the monsters can’t catch him. Then, “I stop and go home to my house and drink some orange juice and when I’m done, I go back out and chase the monsters.”

So I asked, “Do monsters like orange juice?”

“No,” he said. “They just like milk and water…Well, sometimes they do.”

For the record, police like orange juice too. It helps them chase the monsters.

After school the same day, I was sure it would be a quiet trip home. What else could there be to tell me?

I underestimated.

Turns out, Superman and Green Lantern live together.

In our town.

Because they’re cousins.

ALL superheroes have cousins. So they don’t get lonely.

Superman’s primary job, evidently, is to help injured nice monsters. He patches them up with, of course, Superman band-aids.

And this was all within like a half-hour’s time.

Other days, he tells me stories about castles and dragons. Sometimes, he just wants to know what day it is and then argue about the answer. He wants to fly with Superman – and take his mom and his sister and me with him. He wants to go to “Wonderland” (wherever that is) to see Superman and Batman. Some days, he talks about Grandma. Other days, he wants to sing songs. Or make me sing songs. Or insist that I don’t if he’s not in the mood.

I really look forward to the books this kid is gonna write someday.

You know, when he learns to write.*

*His handwriting is already better than mine though.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

