williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

SUMMER’S CIRCLING THE DRAIN

As I write this, it is mid-August. The kids are back to school. More and more days run together where the air conditioning is unnecessary. It’s incrementally taking longer for daybreak to, uh, break.

Fall isn’t here, but it’s coming.

Autumn leaves. A chill in the air. Chili and clam chowder, pumpkin pie, Octoberfest beers, warm bread.

Not all together, of course.

Oh, what the hell. All together.

All those things will be here soon. Not yet. Not today (unless you’re reading this in the fall). Soon.

The older I get, the faster the seasons change, but I also sense those changes more too. They don’t so much run together anymore; each one has it’s own taste. I haven’t reached the age where I feel the oncoming rain in my bones or anything. I can’t predict the first snow, but I’m less and less surprised when it comes.

I take summer for granted most of the season. It’s hot and oppressively humid much of the time; the humidity amplifying every foul odor. But as, fall creeps forward, I dread the end of warm summer days, regret my failure to go to the beach, chase fireflies or finally buy that Speedo I’ve always wanted.

Photos on demand.

Happy Almost Autumn, everyone!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

