williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

THE TOAST POST

On the blog, I bitch a lot.

I snark about stuff. I complain. I cry softly into my Internet pillow until the doves ferrying mint chocolate truffles and expensive wines from faraway places arrive to soothe my psyche.

But not today. Today, we celebrate.

*CUE THE BALLOONS PLUMMETING FROM THE RAFTERS. CONFETTI FINDS ITS WAY INTO THE UNHOLIEST OF PALCES. CATS AND CANARIES MAKING OUT IN A DARK CORNER. FREE LICORICE WHIPS FOR EVERYONE. WOOOOOOOO!*

Okay, not exactly. (Our blog-owner’s insurance lapsed.) But this is a good opportunity to just take a moment to mention some of the things I actually like, not simply things that frustrate me.

It’s like Oprah’s Favorite things.

Except I’m not giving you anything.

*Neener neener neener*

Anyway, here it is, in no particular order. THINGS I LIKE AND/OR MAKE ME HAPPY AND/OR TICKLE ME IN MY SMILEY PLACE.

Doctor Who

Bacon

The sound of a gentle rain as I walk my spaniel-type-dog along the beach while thinking about poetry (That’s for you, ladies)

Family, in all it’s consuming, exhausting, expensive, exasperating glory.

Homemade ice cream

The craft of storytelling – as a reader and a writer

Twitter – yes, it’s time-consuming, but it’s also a little escape hatch I can go to throughout the day when I need to get away from whatever frustration is going on in the real world for a moment or two.

Once in a while, if you look really hard, you’ll find good news in the newspaper with almost no cynicism (nothing exists today totally without cynicism)

Early morning writing sessions when everyone else is asleep and it’s just me, a computer, a coffee cup and at least one cat staring at me.

Mint-flavored anything

The Nerdist podcast

Having a beer while watching over something on the grill

Having the will to keep doing what I want to do even when overwhelmed by the stuff I have to do.

SO. WHAT TICKLES YOUR SMILEY PLACE?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

