williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

DOCTOR WHO GETS ITS MOJO BACK

So.

What’d you do this weekend?

Oh, that’s nice.

Me? Not much. I just….

WATCHED THE BEST TWO BIGGEST @!&$&)@?&?! SCI-FI EVENTS IN THE HISTORY OF SCI-FI.

NO. SCREW THAT. THE BEST EVENTS IN THE HISTORY OF…HISTORY.

I may be overstating things. But not by much.

On Friday night, I watched “An Adventure in Space in Time”, a docudrama about the creation of Doctor Who. Somewhat to my surprise, the movie also dealt just as much with the relationship with the show that original first Doctor, actor William Hartnell, had. When Doctor Who came along, Hartnell, in his fifties, was tired of playing heavies on TV and was a chain-smoking, hard drinking, somewhat depressed grump.

Doing this “children’s” show, though, made him supremely happy. Unfortunately, failing health left him so tired and unable to even get his lines out correctly, he had to leave the show. David Bradley’s portrayal of Hartnell is moving and the film is a fun look behind the scenes at the people responsible for what we’ve enjoyed on TV all these decades.

This weekend, I also, of course, watched “Day of the Doctor,” the fiftieth anniversary special simulcast to TVs around the world and in 3-D in some movie theaters. I was supremely pleased with the episode except for one nagging string left dangling that I really want to talk about, but can’t because spoilers,sweetie (Thank you, River.)

But, On the 25th, even more theaters around the US will run the 3D movie again. And I’ll be at one! By Tuesday, I’ll have more to say about that experience and since most anyone who cares about spoilers will have seen the show in a theater or on TV by then, maybe I’ll talk more about the excellent story, compelling character work, and thrilling little Easter eggs sprinkled throughout.

For now, suffice to say I loved this story. I frankly was pretty lukewarm on most of seasons 7A and 7B. I didn’t think Amy and Rory’s final episodes were all that great. (Though I did recently re watch “Angels Take Manhattan” and was surprised how much I liked it.) and, honestly, Clara has never quite clicked with me.

But then came THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR, which left me stunned. If you haven’t seen “Day of the Doctor” yet, you’ll be happy to know it’s as good. Maybe better.

Even bad Who is good. Good Who is fun. Great Who is transcendent.

Geeks rejoice. Doctor Who is back.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

