williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

THERE’S NO POINT BEING GROWN UP IF YOU CAN’T BE CHILDISH SOMETIMES

“There’s no point being grown up, if you can’t be childish sometimes.”

– The Fourth Doctor, Doctor Who, “Robot”

I have a birthday coming up. Every year about this same time it comes around.

When I was a kid, birthdays meant indulgen meals, chocolaty cake with some sort of cool topper – a wind up Snoopy, matchbox cars, whatever – and anticipation about what’s in those shiny, wrapped packages. As a special treat, my birthday might come with a trip to the toy or bookstore or maybe I’d get to have some buddies sleep over.

I’m a lot older now. I’m a mature, responsible, father and husband. And as such, I’m done with toy stores and sleep-overs. My special trips now are to treat myself to a good wine or bottle of whisky. I still covet a good cake topper though (one year, my wife made me a TARDIS cake!) and would not be surprised – even kind of look forward to – something immature hidden among the “grown up” gifts. A Doctor Who “collectible” maybe. Or some Superman socks.

I figure, if you have to see more and more gray when you look in the mirror every birthday and inch ever closer to the Age of Prostate Exams and Other Indignities, you deserve a TARDIS console room playset or two.

The Fourth a Doctor, he’s a pretty wise dude.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

