williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

IF I HAD A HAMMER…WHAT WOULD I DO WITH IT?

If I had a hammer,
I’d hammer in the morning,
I’d hammer in the evening,
All over this land…

– “If I Had a Hammer” – Peter, Paul & Mary

Well, I do have a hammer, a couple of them I think. Don’t do all that much hammering. My wife uses them all the time though.

Me, I blog.

I hate when we have to call a plumber or get the car repaired. I meet the plumber/mechanic, they explain the problem and give me that look like “you see what I’m saying, fellow male person, right?” And I nod and shrug it off like “Duh! Absolutely! Will blogging fix it?”

Recently, we had a new bathroom sink and faucet installed and, on the same day, the front door replaced. Both my wife and I were there for most of the work, but part of the time, it was just me. When the repair guy would say, “well, if this thing happens, you’ll just do this other thing. Easy.” I’d nod. “Of course it’s easy! We’re men. We know this stuff. Like blogging.”

Then I commit whatever the dude said to memory and repeat it to my wife when she gets home. I know she’ll know what to do.

After we got the new door in, we had to paint it. I did that myself. Painting stuff is one home repair I think I do reasonably well. (As long as I don’t have to climb a ladder taller than six feet.) That’s thanks to my dad who could paint a room blindfolded without spilling a drop or getting wall paint on the ceiling.

While I was painting, my wife said, “Think I’ll cut down this tree.” There’s a bush – well, there was a bush” in the front yard that had to go. She got out the trimmers and the saw and went to town.happy as could be. The tree was out before the first coat on the door was finished.

The fact that my wife has craftsman skills I lack isn’t all bad. It kind of frees me up actually. But sometimes…well, sometimes it’s a little awkward because others expect me to have those skills. it’s silly gender stereotyping, of course, but there it is.

Tonight, my wife sleeps the sleep of the weekend yard warrior. Me, I’m writing a blog.

Also, my wife didn’t write a word today and my door looks damn good.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

