williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

SEEKING THE SUPEREST SUPERHERO

I’ve been reading comics lately.

When I was really young, I was a “Superfriends” fan. I liked the Hulk on TV. The old Batman series. The Christopher Reeve Superman movies. Caped adventures were definitely in my wheelhouse.

But I was never really into comic books. When Batman and Spiderman cartoons proliferated on TV, I sampled, but didn’t get attached to any. Eventually, the superhero thing died out, replaced, I suppose, by Doctor Who ( *ding* obligatory DW reference) and other things.

I briefly got into the habit of reading Action Comics and the other Superman titles fifteen years or so ago around the whole “death of a Superman” thing. But it didn’t stick.

Over the last twenty years or so, a gathering snowball of superhero movies has gathered steam rolling down the movie hillside. (Yes, I know that a steam- gathering snowball would just turn to slush. That’s not the point.) I’ve enjoyed most of them, but still wasn’t really inspired to pick up a comic book.

Recently, though, I’ve been listening to the Nerdist Writer’s Panel podcasts. Ben Acker is the moderator, as well as co-creator of The Thrilling a Adventure Hour (which is also a podcast you should listen to). He is a comic book writer as well, and frequently has panelists on the podcast who write comics for DC or Marvel or others. Listening to them talk about the craft of creating comics for that medium is fascinating. These writers’ enthusiasm for the medium and the characters that inhabit these universes inspired me to start picking up a title or two on Comixology.

I’m enjoying the “X-Files season 10” series very much. It’s overseen by Chris Carter himself and, more than any other X-Files adaptation in print, really embodies the look and tone of the show.

I’m also dabbling with X-Men, Avengers, Captain America and others. I’m still finding my way through huge, decades-old universes, but it’s fun.

Now that my boy is 4 he is into Superman and Spider-man big time. We watch a lot of Superfriends and Ninja Turtles and Spider-Man, at least the ones geared to the youngest viewers. But there aren’t many. Can anyone suggest good superhero material, print or video, for a soon-to-very kindergartner? My daughter is almost nine and would like to be included in the boy’s games, but there aren’t many female heroes to be had. I’m exploring Captain Marvel and Ms. Marcel, but she might still be a little young. Any suggestions for her?

Look! Up in the sky! It’s another completed blog post!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

