williamallenpepper

Here's a blog because NOBODY else has one!

NOSTALGIA-FEST 2015 ROLLS ON

I’ve been partying, well, living, like it’s 1999 a lot lately. Also 1977. And 1985, and 1991. 1983. Pretty much anytime other than the time it is.

Why? I dunno.

I don’t think it coincided with my birthday earliest this year, but the timing of my age steamrolling toward obsolescence and my affinity for hallmarks of my past sure is suspect.

I’ve been into lots of things from my past: Legos; Doctor Who *ding*

*obligatory my blog Doctor Who reference*

I’ve started listening to podcasts about X-Files, Greatest American Hero, M*A*S*H. I’ve been getting back into the Atari video games I enjoyed as a kid.

And of course there’s this little thing: The force is strong with this…

I was a HUGE Star Wars kid. The first movie came out when I was six so it was right in my wheelhouse. I had the toys. The movie tie-in books (including a kickass pop-up book) The neighbor kids and I played Star Wars – I got to be Han Solo because I had a black vest from one of Dad’s old suits. As an adult, I sort of fell out of the SW universe. Episode 1 disappointed me. Episode 2 bored me. I’m pretty sure I fell asleep during Episode 3.

But I’m totally on board with The Force Awakens. Please don’t suck.

And if new Star Wars looming large is fueling my nostalgia train like Doc Brown’s Mr. Fusion, this other thing is about to make the train jump the tracks. Cue Snoopy dance.

If there was one thing I loved more than Star Wars as a kid, it’s Peanuts. The TV specials, I’ve memorized. Old strips, I can still quote verbatim. What can I say? I love mankind. It’s people I can’t stand. But I REALLY like Peanuts. The movie later this year might be good, might be bad, but I’m psyched for new Charlie Brown anytime.

So, this is shaping up to be a pretty good year for me. I’m pretty sure there’s other stuff going on: presidential campaigns, family events and whatnot. But right now, in my head, nostalgia is the food that provides the fuel. Don’t know if that’s healthy or wise. But that’s the way it is.

It’s time to start the music. It’s time to light the lights.*

*Did I mention they’re working on a pilot for a new Muppet Show for TV? My nostalgia cup overflows. Good thing I’ve got my Doctor Who mug from that public television event thirty years ago to catch the excess.

Party on, Wayne. (I really need to stop now.)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

